Skip to content

The Bookish A-Z Survey

18.09.2013

I’ve caught this little gem on a few blogs lately and couldn’t pass up the chance to have a go – takes me back to the chain emails that were doing the rounds in the early 2000’s. Remember those?

__

Authors you’ve read the most books from: If I include the Lockie Leonard series, Tim Winton.

Best sequel ever: I’m hoping that Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor is going to blow me away (but I haven’t read it yet). So for the moment it has to be the fantastic Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta.

Currently reading: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. A pretty good book so far, but I’ve yet to be astounded, which is what you’d expect to feel from a manuscript that was auctioned by a fistful of publishing houses and sold for a few hundred thousand.

Drink of choice while reading: Pre-5pm, black tea. Post-5pm, herbal tea. Or whiskey, depending on the book.

E-reader or physical book: I don’t own an e-reader.

Fictional character that you probably would have dated in high school: I don’t date fictional characters.

Glad you gave this book a chance: A Fortunate Life by AB Facey. Such a beautiful, open story about an ordinary man who left us this extraordinary story of his life.

Hidden gem book: Oh, there are so many! Simon and the Oaks by Marianne Fredriksson. The Flower Boy by Karen Roberts. My favourite would have to be The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon. I love this book, and have reread it a few times. Most people loathe the ending, but I adore it.

Important moment in your reading life: One of the most significant happened quite recently when I read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. It touches on some issues that for me unearthed deeply buried childhood memories. It made me remember, and cry, a lot. Despite this, it’s an astonishingly good book.

Just finished: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

Kind of books you won’t read: I tend to shy away from blockbusters, especially action-spy-army-war things that detail a variety of guns and tanks whose make, model and insane firing capacity the author seems to believe are essential to driving the story forward. Authors, say, like Matthew Reilly. I’m also not overly fond of chick-lit/romance or the paranormal.

Longest book you read: I remember Wild Swans by Jung Chang being hefty. Mind you, I was fifteen, and it was probably the largest book I’d seen in my life to date.

Major book hangover because of: Surrender by Sonya Hartnett. I thought about that one for years.

Number of bookcases you own: In my current house – 4. On loan to my sister – another 1, and it’s the size of a small gantry crane.

One book you’ve read multiple times: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Need I say more?

Preferred place to read: The couch, or late at night in bed.

Quote that inspires you: “Open are the double doors of the horizon; unlocked are their bolts” – from the Egyptian Book of the Dead.

Reading regret: I don’t believe in reading regrets. Having said that, I’ve read some terrible things for the sake of knowing what all the fuss is about, such as The Da Vinci Code and Twilight. The former because I couldn’t justify criticising the book without having read it (it really was as terrible as I imagined). The latter because I confiscated about a dozen copies from my English students who would read the damn thing in my class and not concentrate on the set work. So I thought I should probably find out more about this engrossing series and read some of it. (I’m all for encouraging teens to read, but really, do they have to choose that?)

Series you started and need to finish: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

Three of your all-time favourite books: Is it even possible to answer this? I could list a thousand wonderful picture books, but for novels I’ll narrow it down to Cloudstreet by Tim Winton, Knowledge of Angels by Jeanette Winterson, and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Unapologetic fangirl for: Patrick Ness and Tim Winton.

Very excited for this release: Eyrie by Tim Winton.

Worst bookish habit: I used to underline quotes or paragraphs that I adored. Now, I tend to copy them down in a notebook.

X marks the spot! Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Your last bookish purchase: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

Zzz-snatcher. The book that kept you up way late: Far too many to name here. I stumbled through much of my adolescence as a puffy-eyed night owl. I try not to do that now, as I find it increasingly difficult to wake up in the morning if I do.

__

If you liked this post, you might also enjoy this, this or this.

__

No comments yet

Voice your thoughts

